A Green Thought in a Green Shade.

 

It’s now all systems go as far my orto (allotment) is concerned. Bees are busy, buds are unfurling, trees are greening.

Trouble is I’ve woken up this morning with one hell of a cold. Wonder why.

In the last previous days I’ve managed to get the grass under trim, plant a few flowers and start ploughing the soil where I’ll get my tomatoes and potatoes planted.

The cardoons survived the winter well – after all it was pretty mild this year and there were still some olives I’d overlooked

They say the best way to get rid of an illness is to sweat it out. So I might even try that today! Gardening requires lots of water — most of it in the form of perspiration!

In any event there is no place better than one’s own orto these days and, as the old adage goes, “A shed is a man’s best friend”.

Rather more sublimely Marvell wrote about his garden:

Fair Quiet, have I found thee here,
And Innocence, thy sister dear!
Mistaken long, I sought you then
In busy companies of men :
Your sacred plants, if here below,
Only among the plants will grow ;
Society is all but rude,
To this delicious solitude.

 

Trust you all agree,,,,

 

 

3 thoughts on “A Green Thought in a Green Shade.

  1. I think we’re all looking forward at some future point, to seeing pictures of the allotment full of veggies. Roughly what area does it cover?

  2. Well I do hope that you did not plough the whole lot as there was a lot of lettuce plants chard carciofi beans and as for the potatoes I do not see the point in planting them as we have never had a single one is it the soil not watering or what I wonder maybe animals are pinching them! Glad to hear that you got some greens in as well had some finocchi also should still be there as parsley maybe basil too! Today as I muched an apple was truly surprised as I try to grow the pips never succeeded well there were several pips that had sprouted within the apple itself so off I will go in the morrow to plant them I wonder if an apple tree will grow as a child I remember someone telling me not to eat the pips as they could grow in our tummy well I wonder I had a lucky escape then so it is not just wives tales!

Leave a Reply

