Atlantic City – Fornoli Style

Opposite Fornoli’s “La Ruota” bar (with that excellent restaurant on the first floor) is Pluto’s car sales and workshop. Pluto, of course, is not the owner’s real name. In Italian, Pluto also stands for Mickey Mouse’s lovable dog character with a long bulbous nose. Car salesman, Pluto, too has a similar kind of nose (is rather proud of it, in fact) and that’s how he gets his nickname. I’ll try to find a picture of it (the long nose, I mean) somewhere in my archives. Otherwise, I’ll just have to ask Pluto to pose for another one.

At the front of his shop Pluto used to have a fantastic customer reception room with a tromp-d’oeil of a USA kind of Atlantic City Scenario complete with Cadillac sofa and some nice background street scenes. If I ever needed a fix from across the big pond I’d go there and have a relaxing sit-down.

 

Unfortunately, workshop licensing rules did not allow me to have a Manhattan or a whiskey sour.

(If you didn’t know how to make a good whiskey sour here’s a recipe I use.

Ingredients:

Preparation:

  1. Pour the ingredients into a cocktail shaker with ice cubes.
  2. Shake well.
  3. Strain into a chilled cocktail glass.
  4. Garnish with the lemon twist.)

 download

I couldn’t even get a Bronx

 download (2)

(Again if you can’t shake a Bronx up here’s another recipe for you to try out:

Ingredients:

Preparation:

  1. Pour the ingredients into a cocktail shaker with ice cubes.
  2. Shake well.
  3. Strain into a chilled cocktail glass.
  4. Garnish with orange)

 

I haven’t seen Pluto’s great interior decor design for some time but I think I might try la Ruota bar opposite to oblige a rose of Venezuela (the cocktail I mean, not the girl, or both?) Again here’s how to make one up if you didn’t know how to make this increasingly popular concoction.

 download (1)

(Ingredients

Preparation:

  1. Shake all ingredients in a shaker half-filled with glass.
  2. Stir.)

 

Now that’s me set up for the day (metaphorically, of course!).

 

Incidentally, the snow outside still exists in part as it does every year on the way up the excelsior height of San Pellegrino. Fancy your cocktail with ice up there?

Leave a Reply

